Watercolor Pencils - Reviews

Updated on December 14, 2017
theraggededge profile image

Drawing, doodling, painting, art journaling, sewing and crochet - just some of my favorite things to do.

Source

Versatility in a Pencil

I really like art products that can be used in different ways, and watercolor pencils are one of the most versatile painting mediums. Watercolor pencils can be used just like regular colored pencils and, with a little added H20, will transform into glorious jewel-like color washes. I do a lot of mixed media so my pencils have to withstand a great deal of punishment.

The following reviews are based on watercolor pencil sets that I own – with one exception – the Sanford Prismacolor. I don't have these yet as they are difficult to get hold of in the UK and are relatively expensive compared to the equivalent US price, so I have gathered up some information kindly provided by other reviewers.

I have also cheated a little and included a brand of water soluble crayon, Caran d'Ache Neocolor ll – they are so versatile that I had to let them in here.

Faber-Castell Abrecht Durer
Faber-Castell Abrecht Durer | Source

Faber-Castell Albrecht Dürer

These watercolor pencils were the first ones I ever bought. I have had my set for over 20 years and they are still going strong. They lay down really well with a nice, waxy feel. Dry, they cover the paper with an intense, glowing pigment. Add water to turn them into a lovely creamy wash, leaving very little underlying pencil marks.

Once the wash is thoroughly dry, you can go over it again, forming layers of color. They blend well together, wet or dry.

Faber-Castell Albrecht Dürer come in sets from 12 to 120. They are hexagonal with silver details – although I think the newer sets have gold lettering. They come in luxurious wood boxes or the familiar Faber-Castell green and gold tins.

Derwent Watercolour Pencils
Derwent Watercolour Pencils | Source

Derwent Watercolour

I have just a handful of this brand, well I thought there were more... maybe some of mine have gone astray and are hiding in my daughter's room! I do like them ... there is a good range of colors available. Through the years I have bought them as open stock when I needed extra colors. They are harder than most other watercolor pencils and sharpen to good points. Like the Albert Dürers, they have a good, intense pigment.

As I was making the samples for this article, I realised how good they actually are and have already been scouring eBay for a new set!

Derwent Watercolor come in sets up to 72 colors. Mine are wearing all kinds of livery – some even have the old 'Derwent Rexel brand printed on them, but in their current incarnation they are coated in a deep turquoise.

Update: Nope, they've changed their jackets again and now are dark blue. Confused? Me too.

Glorious when wet - Derwent Inktense.
Glorious when wet - Derwent Inktense. | Source

Derwent Inktense Pencils

Ah... Inktense. I have a love-hate relationship with these. I first bought them about six years ago while on vacation. I'd never seen them before and there weren't any sets available then so I bought about 10. They went to live in a basket with my Derwents and I loved them. More recently I decided to treat myself to a wood box of 72. Thrilled I was when they arrived, packed in three cardboard boxes of diminishing sizes. However, when I got them out to have a play, my first reaction was disappointment in the range of colors.

If you look closely at the samples above, you'll see that the colors of the washes are fantastic – no complaints there at all – but, as I said earlier, I expect my watercolor pencils to do double duty and be just as good to use dry. Alas, Inktense aren't nearly as versatile as Faber-Castell Albrecht Dürer or even the Koh-i-Noors below. The dry colors are very dark and very close in range.

This is just my opinion, though, and you must make your own mind up... because when activated with water there is simply nothing that comes close to them. They are beautiful, glorious and most definitely intense. The pencils are made of ink pigment, which once dry, stays put. You can't reactivate them. This means you can layer to your heart's content.

Be careful how you lay the dry pencil down – press too hard and you will leave pencil lines under the wash – again, look closely at my sample above.

My original Inktenses were hexagonal but the new ones are round. They come in sets, both boxed and tins, from 12 to 72. Inktense can be used on many surfaces – even fabric.

As well as pencils, Inktense are also produced in block form. Chunky sticks of pure pigment. You can draw directly onto paper – either using a pointy end or by laying the blocks flat for larger areas. You can scrape off some pigment into a little container, add water and shake for a pure wash. I haven't got any yet so feel free to send me some!

Face painted with dry Inktense pencils.
Face painted with dry Inktense pencils. | Source
Koh-i-Noor Hardtmuth Mondeluz - Highly recommended for performance and value.
Koh-i-Noor Hardtmuth Mondeluz - Highly recommended for performance and value. | Source

Koh-i-Noor Aquarelle Mondeluz

Now these are a real surprise. I bought them on recommendation of another reviewer and because they were so darn cheap. I still can''t believe the price I paid, even though mine came all the way from China. They arrived in a rubbishy, cheap cardboard box but who cares! These Koh-i-Noor Aquarelle Mondeluz are soft and vibrant enough on paper without ever using them as watercolor pencils, but when you do add water...ooh. Bright, clear, transparent washes and all underlying pencil marks disappear instantly. They blend well, dry or wet, and yet another good thing about them is that once they are dry, I can write right on top with my Sakura Pigma Micron pens.

I have no idea whether they are light-fast or not. To be honest, at that price I couldn't care less. Plus, most of my work is done in art journals so it doesn't really matter. I can't recommend them enough.

Koh-i-Noor Aquarelle Mondeluz used dry.
Koh-i-Noor Aquarelle Mondeluz used dry. | Source

Prismacolor Watercolor Pencils

Like I said in my introduction, I have never tried Prismacolors at all. I do know that they are highly recommended in the US and are reasonably priced. They are limited to sets of 12, 24 and 36, but perhaps this will be extended in the future.

Other reviewers report that they are soft to apply, the pigment is strong and lays down well, with dense, bright, creamy washes when wet. They are 'layer-able' and 'blend-able'. Sounds good to me.

The creamy goodness of Caran D'ache Neocolor lls
The creamy goodness of Caran D'ache Neocolor lls | Source

Neocolor ll Watersoluble Crayons

I snuck these crayons (and they are crayons, not pastels) in because I use them all the time in mixed media. Neocolor lls are so much fun and can be applied in several ways. Used dry, they are Crayolas on steroids – it's just like drawing with a stick of butter only nicer. Add water, and oh my gosh, they release a wash that is so intense and creamy it blows those pencils out of the water – literally. Apply them directly to paper, dip them into water (never, ever do that with pencils) or apply to waxed paper and use it as a palette. You can also touch a wet brush to the tip of the crayon to pick up small amounts of pigment just like a watercolor pan.

Caran d'Ache Classic Neocolor lls come in tins of 10 to 84. I have a set of 48 and I would sell one of my children for the large set!

Hope you enjoyed your trip through my watercolor pencil collection. Thanks for reading.

Watercolor Pencil Comparison Table

Brand
Sets
Approx. Price/36
Pros
Cons
 
 
 
 
 
Faber-Castell Albrecht Durer
12 - 120
$60
Soft, thick pigment. Deep, intense wash.
None.
Derwent Watercolour
12 - 72
$39
Good range of colors. Nice, painterly wash. Sharpens well and holds point.
Harder than some brands.
Derwent Inktense
12 - 72
$68 (varies a lot)
The best washes ever.
Not so good used dry.
Koh-i-Noor Hardtmuth Mondeluz
48 & 72
$23 & $32
Soft, bright pigment, wet or dry. Great value.
Light-fastness not known.
Prismacolor Watercolor Pencils
12 - 36
$36
Soft to apply. Intense washes.
Limited range.
Caran d'Ache Neocolor ll
10 - 84
$47/30
Juicy crayon, creamy washes.
Not pencils.

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Bev G

    What brand of watercolor pencil do you prefer?

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Rui Caeiro 

        20 months ago

        Thank you

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        20 months ago from Wales, UK

        Oh, I see. Look at that! Very clever. You have definitely got a lot of pigment into a very small space - I'm looking at the photo with the brush at the side. Love your figures, very expressive.

      • profile image

        Rui Caeiro 

        20 months ago

        The disadvantage of the woodless pencils is that the "lead" has a larger diameter and it wouldn't be possible to make such a tiny palette...

        Here is the changed pencil sharpener..

        https://www.flickr.com/photos/145315520@N03/305357...

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        20 months ago from Wales, UK

        How cute is that! How about the pencils that are woodless? There are a bunch of them around these days. Cretacolor Aqua Monolith, Koh-i-noor Progresso are two that I know. I've never tried them though. I'm not sure I could hurt my pencils on purpose :D

      • profile image

        Rui Caeiro 

        20 months ago

        Hi Bev

        I Loved your Review, If I just could have found it sooner....

        For outside little sketchs on A6/A5 format I use just the leads from Prismalo® Aquarelle watercolor pencils to make a very small palette which I used with waterbrushes.

        To remove the lead from the pencil, I changed the blade from a pencil sharpener so that it cuts out the wood from the pencil to get the 3mm lead apart.

        Here is my working tool. What do you think?

        https://www.flickr.com/photos/145315520@N03/302352...

        Regards

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        21 months ago from Wales, UK

        Thanks Raj. Have fun with your Inktense!

      • profile image

        Raj 

        21 months ago

        Just starting out on my watercolour pencil journey; nice informative article- many thanks! Picked up a 36 tin set of Inktense the other day; the point about similar tones when used dry is spot on- I'd challenge anybody to tell dark tones like deep reds or browns apart. Of course, use a bit of water and it's a different story…

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        24 months ago from Wales, UK

        The manufacturers have always claimed you can use them dry, Annie. http://www.pencils.co.uk/en/gb/4407/inktense-penci...

      • profile image

        Annie 

        24 months ago

        Don't know if anyone is tracking this anymore, but the reason Inktense pencils don't work dry, is they are NOT watercolor pencils. They are ink pencils. Ink. They behave differently than water color.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        3 years ago from Wales, UK

        I love Faber Castell too, peachpurple.

      • peachpurple profile image

        peachy 

        3 years ago from Home Sweet Home

        regardless of paint of pencils, I still vote for faber castle

      • Stephan Berry profile image

        Stephan Berry 

        4 years ago

        @pugfather No idea about Graphite pencils but I have recently bought Derwent Tinted Charcoal Pencil Sets from jerrysartarama's online store and pleased with the variety of colors. It's really easy to use.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        4 years ago from Wales, UK

        :-) Thank you!

      • profile image

        PinaColada 

        4 years ago

        Yes, thanks Alexandra, I also found that chart useful.

        What a great review of all these watercolour pencils!

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        4 years ago from Wales, UK

        Thanks Alexandra, that's really useful.

      • profile image

        Alexandra 

        4 years ago

        Here you have Koh-i-Noor Mondeluz lightfastness chart:

        http://www.jacksonsart.com/images/PDF/Mondeluz_sml...

      • DaffodilSky profile image

        Helen Lush 

        5 years ago from Cardiff, Wales, UK

        Waving back enthusiastically :)

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        Thanks, DaffodilSky. You're from Cardiff! How cool. Waving at you!

      • DaffodilSky profile image

        Helen Lush 

        5 years ago from Cardiff, Wales, UK

        Good comprehensive article. I too really like Derwent Watercolour pencils - I use them for fine detailing in my watercolour paintings and so like their hardness and being able to get a good sharp point. I usually use them dry but like the option to wet the area for a more intense colour. Voted up and useful!

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        Thanks, BethDW :)

      • profile image

        BethDW 

        5 years ago

        Great guide. Voted up and shared.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        Hi, pugfather. No, I haven't tried the Derwent tinted graphite - they have been on my wishlist for a little while. I would like to know if anyone has tried and, hopefully, liked them too.

      • profile image

        pugfather 

        5 years ago

        I have been using water colour pencils for a bit and have recently bought the Derwent Inktense set.

        These, for me, are brilliant - in every way. Yes, they are a little harder than ordinary water colour pencils but the quality of the colours and how they behave is very special.

        I have ordered a box of the Koh i Noor Aquarelles to try, they seem to have a very low price compared to many others. I have used the Koh i Noor graphite pencils a lot and have always been satisfied with them, so I expect the ones I've just ordered to perform as satisfactorily.

        Has anyone tried the Derwent tinted graphite pencils? I'd like some feedback before buying them.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        Thanks, Carol. You can do both - do something with your watercolor pencils and write a hub about it!

      • carol7777 profile image

        carol stanley 

        5 years ago from Arizona

        I love the information as I have been looking at my watercolor pencils...yet to use. I think I am writing too much on HubPages. Great hub and lots of good research saving us all time.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        Glad to help, AliciaC. You must try the Koh-i-Noors - I am very impressed with them. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much for this information, theraggededge - it's a great reference source for me. I enjoy using colored pencils to draw animals and plants. I've tried watercolor pencils, but I haven't found a brand that I like yet. I like the pencil marks to disappear when I add water, so I'm very interested in some of the brands that you've reviewed.

      • theraggededge profile imageAUTHOR

        Bev G 

        5 years ago from Wales, UK

        I love shopping on eBay for pencils (& pens), hope you get a really good bargain, Judi Bee. Thank you for your comment.x

      • Judi Bee profile image

        Judith Hancock 

        5 years ago from UK

        Just like you, I have (had) Derwent Watercolour pencils and just like yours, mine are now in my daughter's bedroom. I had a hunt for them last week after being inspired by your Art Journal hub and have a handful back, but there are quite a few still lurking up there I'm sure.

        Will have to get on Ebay and find some new ones - good hub!

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, feltmagnet.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://feltmagnet.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)